Wakefield 2011 Town Election Results: Incumbents Sweep, Danehy Joins School Committee

Incumbents came up big, and the School Committee will welcome a new member tomorrow night.

Wakefield voters reelected all incumbents in all three races, while also welcoming Anne Danehy to the School Committee.

Selectmen's Race
Patrick Glynn and Betsy Sheeran won their current seats by 1230 and 1274, respectively. Challenger Richard Wood netted 686 votes.

Official Results:

Name Votes Percent Sheeran 1274 38.43% Glynn 1230 39.80% Wood 686 21.43%

School Committee Race
Incumbent Chris Callanan was re-elected to another three-year term on the School Committee with 977 votes and new member Anne Danehy joins him, earning 1412 votes. Gregory Powers received 699 votes.

Official Results:

Name Votes Percent Callanan 977 31.58% Danehy 1412 45.64% Powers 699 22.59%

Board of Assessors Race
Incumbent Sebastian Tine won over challenger Christopher Wilcock, 1027 to 525 votes.

Earlier today, Wilcock said that win or lose, running was "a great experience."

Uncontested Races:

Town Clerk, three-year term: Mary Galvin.
Town Moderator, one-year term: William Carroll
Library Trustees three-year terms: Michael Bourque, Nancy Delaney, Harold Regan
Planning Board, five-year term: Paul Semenza
Municipal Gas and Light Commissioner, three-year term: John Warchol
Board of Health, three-year term: Ann McGonigle Santos
Housing Authority, five-year term: Eugene Ruggeiro
Constable, three-year term: Robert Foley


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »