.

Letter: Why I'm Voting for Obama

A Wakefield resident outlines why he's voting for Obama in 2012, and why you should too.

Editor, 
Promises made, promises kept! The reasons I will vote for President Obama in the March 6 Democratic Presidential Primary election are many. I ask, are you better off than you were 4 years ago? I know I am.

1. Obama passed the Affordable Healthcare Act. As a cancer survivor, I can no longer be denied healthcare because of a pre-existing condition, women's healthcare is guaranteed, and kids can stay on their parents' insurance until they're 26.

2. Obama helped add over 3 million new jobs in the private business sector, unemployment is dropping, and the stock market recently topped 13k.       America is coming back stronger than ever.

3.  Obama fights for middle class, Main Street Americans to keep their homes .  Just this week I was able to re-finance my mortgage from 5.875 % down to 3.50%, saving $500/month in payments. 

4.  Obama ender the Iraq War, was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize, and restored American honor, prestige and respect around the world.  

In short, bin Laden is dead, GM is alive! Well done, Mr. President! Thank you on behalf of a grateful nation. You have earned four more years.

My fellow Wakefieldians, and voters of the Fifth Senate District, do the right thing on Tuesday and vote to keep America moving forward. Vote for President Obama.  

Respectfully,  
Fred Rich LaRiccia  
Obama/Biden 2012 Campaign Wakefield Volunteer  

P.S.  And a special request to our many unenrolled, independent friends.  If you choose to take a Democratic ballot, would you also consider voting for our two outstanding State Committeemen? Joe Lawless (D-Malden) the Chair of the Malden Democratic City Committee and our own inspirational Betsy Sheeran (D-Wakefield), Chair of the Wakefield Democratic Town Committee and member of our Board of Selectmen.  Over the years both have given thousands of selfless volunteer hours building a stronger, progressive Democratic Party.  Thank you for your kind consideration.

John Devlin February 28, 2012 at 11:41 PM
The U.S.-proposed Iraq Status of Forces Agreement, which called for the removal of all US troops from Iraq by December 31, 2011, was ratified by an overwhelming majority in the Iraqi Parliament on November 27th, 2008. In September of 2011, the Obama administration proposed a plan that would keep 3,000 to 4,000 American troops in Iraq after the deadline. Iraq's leaders agreed, but said the remaining American troops would not be granted immunity from Iraqi laws, which was unacceptable to the administration. So then, and only then, did the president announce a complete withdrawl of all American forces.
DBC March 01, 2012 at 05:31 PM
Well said, Fred and great point, John. As a registered Independent, I take all opinions and evaluate them against my own research. I find a level-headed resolve to address the truth a much more satisfactory way of stating opinions than the "in your face, shove it down your throat" tactics of those who seem more interested in distorting the truth for political benefit. In the past, members from both major parties have been guilty of such shenanigans. This year, I've been deluged through e-mail with distortions and downright slanderous attempts by Republicans to defame and defile a person who just happens to have been voted "by the people" to be in the Office of the Presidency of the United States of America. Those detractors have a right to their opinion as long as it does not infringe on another's right to their opinion or well-being. That is what Freedom in the Bill of Rights means: "Your right to freedom stops at the tip of my nose." They also have the responsibility to tell the truth. When you disrespect the Office of the Presidency and the duly elected official in that office, you undermine the very fiber of this nation and ridicule the right to vote of every one who put an X in the box beside Barack Obama's name in 2008 or any other elected President of any election year before him. We EACH have a right to vote as we please and so desire, without ridicule or fear of retribution. We need differences of opinion without distortion to insure preservation of Freedom for all.
Jeff Crump March 01, 2012 at 05:46 PM
Oh, I forgot. For a Democrat, "dissent is the highest form of patriotism". For Republicans, dissent is disrespectful and racist. My bad. Where in my comments was I slandering the president? Surely you can can understand that one can have respect for the office and disdain for its occupant. Oh, and by the way, John didn't refute my point that Bush actually negotiated the end of the Iraq war. Obama implemented it. Why is this difficult to understand?
rwc2 March 04, 2012 at 09:08 PM
1. And if you actually ask people, point by point on the various features of the health care bill, they support them. It's mainly because of the GOP lies about what it actually in the bill that is making people nervous. One of the biggest complaints that people have about the reform is that it didn't go far enough and offer a Medicare for all option, which polls showed 75% of the public supports. 2. Agreed there are not enough jobs, but that is the fault of too timid government intervention , not too much. Repeated polls of just business owners have shown they are not hiring because their customers are not buying -- taxes and too many regulations have nothing to do with it. No one is punishing success. The tax rate on the wealthy and corporations and capital gains was much higher in the '50s and '60s and the rich were doing just fine, and the middle class was doing better than now. 3. Little to do with the weakness in the housing market and everything to do with the FED trying to bolster the economy with low interest rates and overseas investors still seeing the U.S. as the best place to put their money and hence keeping rates low. If no one was will to buy US bonds at practically a 0% interest rate, the Fed would have to raise rates. Obviously they don't have to raise rates. 4. Bush was dragged kicking and screaming to the Iraq treaty and McCain opposed it. If he had been elected, we would still be there and everyone knows that.
rwc2 March 04, 2012 at 09:44 PM
see my answer above, jeff

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »